166 Reviews on Peugeot 208 – Give your opinion, Peugeot 208 Puretech 75 test: the basic 208 is frequentable?

Peugeot 208 PureTech 75 test: the basic 208 is frequentable

The analog display is clearer than the 3D I-Cockpit of higher finishes. On the other hand, the ergonomics of the central screen, especially for air conditioning settings, is not very intuitive.

Your 166 Peugeot 208 reviews

I have had this vehicle since 2019, very pleasant to drive. No mechanical problem encountered, only a leak on the air conditioning circuit which still cost me € 800. Perfect for everyday journeys but I do not recommend users who regularly take the highway It really lacks 6th speed, long journeys are tiring with this vehicle. The finish is very beautiful, I change my vehicle, I will regret the panoramic roof.

By Benji355 on 06/18/2023 at 7:33 p.m

Having owned this vehicle for 1 and a half years I was very satisfied, the presentation is good, the quality and the presentation of the finish is at the top, all the controls fall on hand, it’s reliable I just had a fairly serious concerns which was the alternator belt which was apparently yielding because of the S&S which worked a little when it wanted otherwise it is a vehicle at the top not too expensive to maintain, the Bluetooth tended to mess around Also, the comfort is good, a little firm anyway but otherwise it’s okay, the trunk is a bit small but it is a city car so normal a little, a very good vehicle that I would recommend 100%

By Yakajili on 05/19/2023 at 10:19 p.m

A disaster, don’t buy it. Correct the first 7 years and 80,000 first km, then comes the problems described after: dead engine, and not supported by Peugeot (known problem because they take it before 5 years and 150,000 km, it is true that a dead engine At 100,000 km is normal, but Peugeot washes your hands). Car however quite comfortable and pleasant to drive, quite pretty. It has an interesting volume for a city car. Fairly high consumption.

By Rémi1 on 04/12/2023 at 9:21 a.m

I have owned the 208 for 6 years, currently it at 165,000km, I especially take it for journey/ work and sometimes on weekends, power level is not crazy crazy but it is job, comfort level of the seats is not a Road therefore very quickly back badly if made a lot of kilometers, Top 4 petrol consumption.4L/100, its mounting at 5L See 6L on the highway, the steering wheel very flexible, no complaints, perfect handling .

By mechanic on 04/05/2023 at 10:58 a.m

Hello everyone. To keep this a very good car pleasant to drive (we are only 2 !), excellent handling, good times, it seems to me that a 6th speed would not be bad, without problems except injectors to change at 95000klm (polluting cause), apart ; (Conso: 5L); In addition, this a vehicle that resells well because it holds well as they get older !.

Avatar

By rabbit49 on 03/03/2023 at 8:34 p.m

Good evening vehicle bought from an individual in May 2021 for € 7,500, very clean condition and totaling 119,000 kms; currently 158,500 km. Vehicle used by my wife to get to work. Oddly I find myself more cramped than in our previous 207 (I measure 1.90 m); While the interior dimensions are comparable. Comfort, handling, equipment: very good 92 hp engine, sufficient but it lacks a 6th speed. Thank you to Peugeot for reviewing the location of the air filter, now easily accessible.(92 hp 8V engine quite different therefore from 90 hp 16v) ​​Only problem: the “engine” light turned on several times, but after a motor dissemination (hot) nothing more. To date no other problems, no immobilizing failures alone an annoying and random noise is present at the front of the vehicle (unknown source). And the clutch begins to give signs of fatigue, as often at Peugeot after 150,000 km in summary good vehicle that I would recommend for extra urban use.

By Brussou on 02/02/2023 at 3:56 p.m

I bought it vehicles when I had my driver’s license, now a year and a half ago. It is a car that is very pleasant to drive on a daily basis, it has a good recovery and it is very comfortable for a city car. The GT Line finish is great, this is also the case for the small steering wheel that I find very pleasant. But apart from these positive points I also encountered problems with this car. Indeed my car has engine 1.2 PureTech and this engine encounters many problems such as the distribution belt which is disintegrated in oil and which can cause the engine break. This summer on the highway The engine of my car is stopped after the diagnosis of Peugeot it had to change the entire distribution, the accessory belt, the water pump, the oil pump, etc. In total ten rooms. The repairs were supported by the Peugeot manufacturer’s warranty and fortunately since there were more than 2,000 euros in repair. The insulating foam under the hood which starts into pieces is too expensive to replace it and still other worries. At times I regret the purchase of this vehicle.

By car01 on 01/16/2023 at 6:21 p.m

Car 208 1.2 VTI followed regularly with a Peugeot dealer.In October 2022 during a trip to Brussels the oil indicator light I light I put on oil and took my car to the usual garage when I got home.Results my car consumes 6 times more oil than the standard.Solutions offered to monitor the oil level and add it if necessary (knowing that a serious and always possible failure) or change the engine with a well -salted bill.It seems to me that I can ask myself the question on the reliability of this engine and or on a manufacturing defect.I asked Peugeot to take care of this big repair .I know that the manufacturer’s warranty is 5 years but my car has few kilometers and it remains article 1641 of the CC concerning the protection of the consumer consumer.

By fakir66 on 27/11/2022 at 2:04 p.m

Very disappointed and by the car and by the brand. The car, 68 horsepower petrol engine, the famous which consumes 5 liters of oil at 1000 km. I brought to a point S, to see if this car did not have a problem. Indeed, she has a problem. Peugeot has sent a letter to all garages, Auto concessions, pro in the automotive sector stipulating that this engine has a problem of overconsumption of oil, therefore known, and that the solution is to change all simply the engine. But when you realize the problem at 100-120,000 km, Peugeot does not support anything, the engine being already “old”. My engine therefore returned the soul to 160,000 km. The worst part is that when I talk about this problem to a car seller, he tells me that Peugeot continues to equip the 208 petrol, C3, one several small models, with impunity.”Ah yes, they have to sell their engines. “In short, very disappointed with this brand.

By Sand21 on 15/11/2022 at 12:57 p.m

I bought a 208 3 -year petrol style in September 2021 with around 29,000 km on the clock and at a price of € 12,000. I hesitated with a clio 4 but the lack of visibility at the back of the clio made me lean for the Peugeot. A year after the purchase, to be short: clutch hanging up and coupling in gear passage, hard clutch pedal, difficult skating. After a year and less than 4,000 km traveled, 3 weeks at the Peugeot garage and an invoice of around € 4,000 to change the entire clutch (including the engine steering wheel)! It represents a third of the car purchase price to have to spend after a year ! An aberration! One wonders what to consist of the 100 Peugeot control points before the sale. First half of the invoice taken care of without difficulty by Peugeot then supported by the second half after very negative responses on my part to the satisfaction survey. The after -sales service did the job after the fact but what to stress before getting there ! Today, there are difficulties, especially in passing the 1st and skating side it is still not the top. I who had never had technical problems with my old Clio 2 diesel for 20 years and 220,000 km, I am very disappointed with my purchase. I no longer trust my car and Peugeot is not interested in a recovery. I was made to understand that even if there are few used vehicles at the moment, a 4 -year -old vehicle is too old to be offered by the concession. At best, Peugeot would offer me between 8,000 and 9,500 € while it coasts still € 12,000 this year. Even if I understand that they take a commission and must guarantee the vehicle, it is very weak. To believe that they too doubt this vehicle. First and last purchase from Peugeot, it is certain.

Peugeot 208 PureTech 75 test: the basic 208 is frequentable ?

Our national starlet has something. The Peugeot 208 Sales Sales, crowned with a car title of the year and a success of esteem which quickly turned into a commercial cardboard, acclaimed for its look and its road qualities. Does the entry-level version really have the same assets ? Without frills and with only 75 hp, the table may be less pink.

French champion 2020, European number 1 in the first two months of 2021, all categories combined. Add to that the peugeot classification at the head of the favorite manufacturers of the French, and the lion would seem not to want to get off from his cloud. The second generation 208 acts as an engine in this good health, from its launch. The sharp style and the upmarket undertaken by Peugeot for some time (timidly, the first 508 already started the brand’s premium ambitions) therefore recipe, and the 208 began its career in a rod. Largely in front of the Renault Clio, its lifelong rival, relegated to third place or even, some months, ejected from the podium by a certain Dacia Sandero.

As often, we discover the new features in their most extensive or sold versions. For the 208, the heart of the range is ensured by the intermediate style finish, or allure, more rewarding. And expensive: this last minimum request 20.€ 800 with the 100 hp 3 -cylinder purtech. More modestly, the 208 range starts at 16.000 €, in Like call version, in the smallest engine (75 hp). This represents only a relatively low proportion of sales, these call versions often used to ensure an entry ticket to hamper the barge.

No, no question of low-cost

We could therefore fear that the first 208 first prize borders on absolute counting. This is not really the case, even if we forget the digital meters at this rate, replaced by good old conventional needles. Perfectly readable, in any case. Ditto for the handbrake with manual control, or the cranks for the rear windows. By dint of playing spoiled children, auto journalists sometimes forget certain fundamentals of the consumer automobile !

Peugeot 208 PureTech 75 test: Is the basic 208 frequentable?

The interior atmosphere is the same aboard any 208. Please note: the 7 -inch central screen and steering wheel controls are not present on the like, the real basic finish. Here in Active, the 208 is a little more provided.

Good to know: anticipate purchase and resale.

It is possible to know the resale or recovery value of your vehicle thanks to the Turbo auto rating of your Peugeot 208, the alternative to the Argus coast.

Be careful, the test model here illustrated is actually the second cheapest finish (active), Peugeot not having 208 likes within his press park. A test gallop in a copy of the latter made it possible to see a single serious difference in the treatment of the passenger compartment: the dashboard is in hard plastic, and the 7 -inch touch screen is absent, replaced by a smaller (5 inches, without colors). For the rest, we find the same environment as well as any 208, namely rather neat assemblies, a pleasant upholstery and. A slightly special driving position, not obvious to find according to morphologies (the small steering wheel and the high meters are not suitable for everyone). In terms of equipment, obviously should not be expected at the slightest state -of -the -art gadget, but the endowment is still suitable. Cruise control, air conditioning (manual) and emergency braking are served as standard.

On our active 208, the supplement of 1.€ 700 is partially justified by the foaming plastic dashboard, the central screen with smartphone connection, steering wheel controls, hands -free starting and led daytime lights, mainly. With the exception of alloy rims and handguns painted bodywork, so we have the 208 in its eyes in its most elementary version. Rather presentable, therefore.

Peugeot 208 PureTech 75 test: Is the basic 208 frequentable?

Only two engines are available at the entry level: our PureTech 75 hp petrol, and a BlueHDI 100 hp diesel. The latter is difficult to justify on an urban car, except for very large rollers.

Atmo and unpretentious

Under the hood, however, we have the smallest engine offered on the 208. The 3 cylinder 1.2 l PureTech, deprived of turbo, is satisfied here by 75 hp. A power that seems sufficient for its primary use: the city, or the peri-urban journeys. Sufficient flexible and discreet, despite some idle vibrations, characteristic of this architecture, he also manages to limit his appetite to an honest level. Count around 6 l/100 km, without special restraint. But staying away from the fast tracks, and with a single passenger on board.

Vingue on a highway is not a ordeal, provided you don’t dwell on it ! Otherwise, his limited couple (118 nm at 2.750 rpm) and its modest performance (0 to 100 km/h in 14.9 s) impose tedious driving in the long run. Annoying, especially since this lack of enthusiasm is then accompanied by a sensitive overconsumption, by dint of downgrading (by playing a very pleasant 5 -speed gearbox, with long debates) to hope to revive properly. With four adults on board, let’s not talk about it.

Peugeot 208 PureTech 75 test: Is the basic 208 frequentable?

No LED headlights, but conventional bulbs. Diurnal “crocs” are absent from the basic like, and appear on the active version of our test.

At least we find the agility and lively behavior of the chassis of the 208. It is relatively light, also (1.195 kg). On a winding road, despite the modest power, we take advantage of a certain dynamism. Road touch, the balance of the car and the comfort / interesting comfort compromise remain the primary qualities of the French little. Typically Peugeot, and quite pleasant. We are reassured. And the small rims have at least one virtue: 15 or 16 inches, this preserves better filtration than the large 17 -inch rides (and the budget of their replacement) ! Between style and comfort, you can’t always have everything.

For a few more horses.

The Like basic finish is only available with the two least powerful engines (our 75 hp and the BlueHDI 100 hp diesel, to be reserved for large rollers). In addition to the equipment and the slightly more modern presentation, the intermediate style version has above all the advantage of being offered with the 1.2 PureTech of 100 hp, much more vigorous and not more greedy: both are approved at 5.3 l / 100 km in mixed cycle, for 118 g / km of CO2 (no penalty). In this configuration, the call price is far away: a 208 thus rigged begins at 19.€ 950, but offers real versatility and significantly higher approval.

Peugeot 208 PureTech 75 test: Is the basic 208 frequentable?

The analog display is clearer than the 3D I-Cockpit of higher finishes. On the other hand, the ergonomics of the central screen, especially for air conditioning settings, is not very intuitive.

PEUGEOT 208 PureTech 75 technical characteristics (2021)

Peugeot 208 technical sheet

Model Try: Peugeot 208 1.2 PureTech 75 Active
Dimensions L x W x H 4.055 / 1.745 / 1.430 m
Wheelbase 2.540 m
Mini chest volume 311 L
Unloaded weight 1.195 kg
Engine displacement 3 cylinders petrol, atmospheric – 1.199 cm3
Power 75 hp at 5.750 rpm
Couple 118 nm at 2.750 rpm
0 to 100 km/h 14.9 s
Max speed 170 km/h
CO2 rate 118 g / km (WLTP)
Advanced consumption – Raised 5.3 L – 6 l / 100 km
Malus 2021 0 €
Prices from 16.000 € (model tried: 17.700 €)

Good to know: anticipate purchase and resale.

Whether for the purchase of a new or used car, it is important to provide all expenses by comparing different car insurance offers.

  • – Comfort
  • – Behavior
  • – Finish, presentation
  • – Limited performance
  • – Highway consumption

Up to you. In a modestly motorized access version, a 208 ultimately has nothing to do. Provided not to ask a miracle from a small 3 -cylinder of 75 hp, to consider it as a real city car … and not much more. Fortunately, the main qualities that make the success of the 208, especially behavior question, are always there.