Ubisoft will delete accounts from inactive players, connect – Ubisoft support

Ubisoft customer service

© 2023 Ubisoft Entertainment. All Rights Reserved. Ubisoft, Ubi.com and the ubisoft logo are trademarks of ubisoft entertainment in the u.S. AND/OR Other Countries.

Ubisoft will delete the accounts of inactive players

Some users have received an Ubisoft email indicating that their account was going to be definitively closed within 30 days. A RGPD application that does not delight players.

Could this be the limit of dematerialized video games? Ubisoft’s decision to delete the accounts of inactive players in any case creates players’ teeth. The company has indeed sent an email to certain users, informing them that their account was temporarily suspended and would be definitively closed within 30 days.

Thus, according to some users, if the player does not reconnect to his account by the given period, all the dematerialized games purchased could be lost.

Ubisoft, however, denied this information, indicating in an email to the IGN media that the deletion criteria were precise: the company has taken into account the play of the account since its creation or the total duration of inactivity.

The company specifies above all that the game libraries including purchased PC games are not eligible for account removal and to date, no inactive account for less than 4 years has been deleted by the platform.

Respect for the GDPR

Note that the final closure mentioned by the players remains avoidable. Players are invited to click on the “Cancel the account fence” button in the email received to avoid suspension, as the company specifies on Twitter in response to worried players.

Ubisoft justifies this decision by its desire to comply with the General Data Protection Regulations (GDPR) which are companies to delete inactive accounts after a given period. Ubisoft thus indicates in its conditions of use that it can “suspend or close an account, anytime, automatically and at its sole discretion, when the account was inactive for more than six months.

“In rare cases, we can immediately close the inactive accounts in order to comply with local data protection laws. This applies only if we have a strong reason to believe that the account in question will remain unused, “adds Ubisoft on his site.

The French company is not the first to set up such an inactive account suspension system. Google announced a few weeks ago that it was going to make any inactive account for two years. All the products and services of Google, from Gmail to Drive via YouTube, could therefore disappear in a user not having connected only once in two years. A deletion that will be made by next December.

Ubisoft counts

Please connect to your Ubisoft account to contact the support or open a support folder.

You cannot access your Ubisoft account ? Click here.

We are also on social networks !

Ubisoft SOCIETY

  • PRESS
  • BAND
  • Investor Center
  • RECRUITMENT
  • CONDITIONS OF USE
  • LEGAL INFORMATION
  • CONTACT US
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Set cookies

Europe

North America

South America

Asia / Pacific

© 2023 Ubisoft Entertainment. All Rights Reserved. Ubisoft, Ubi.com and the ubisoft logo are trademarks of ubisoft entertainment in the u.S. AND/OR Other Countries.

Refine your search

PC games

Console games

Portable console games

Mobile games

Smart TV

Online accounts and stores

Reset filters

Suggested games

An error was encountered. Please try again.

FAQS Recommended

There is no FAQ corresponding to this research criterion in your language, here is written in other languages.

In order to see more results, please refine your search

An error was encountered. Please try again.

No results were found. Please refine your search criteria.

Recommended links

An error was encountered. Please try again.

Loading…

No results were found. Please refine your search criteria.