POLESTAR 2 2023 TEST, OPINION; Your questions, our answers | Road tests | Auto123, 2024 Polestar 2 is a win for customers despite raised prices – the car guide

2024 Polestar 2 is a win for customers despite raised prices

During our test week, we were seriously asked the question. Which buy between a C40 and a Polestar 2. The Polestar 2 directly competes with the Volvo C40 recharging, even if technically we consider the first a car, the second a multiserment.

Polestar 2 2023: your questions & our answers

The Polestar 2 is a performance electric vehicle belonging to the electric division of the Volvo manufacturer. This sedan has style and a practical appearance thanks in particular to its checkout height. The model is equipped with a large 78 kWh battery and an electric motor supplying the front wheels, with the possibility of opting for a more powerful all -wheel drive configuration which includes two electric motors.

The autonomy of this car is 434 km in a traction version and 418 km in four -wheel drive configuration according to the EPA.

We are in a known and familiar environment, which demonstrates a fabric signed Volvo. One might think that we are dealing with a cheap Volvo subcategory, but it is not. So let’s see why opt for this Polestar 2 rather than the Volvo C40, its direct competitor.

Polestar 2 2023 Blue

The Polestar 2, a Volvo at a discount ?

For the initiates of the Volvo brand, there is no doubt that there is a very large resemblance to the parent company. The T -shaped headlights as well as the Calestar 2 grille are fluidly integrated into the front design of the vehicle. Instead of a conventional ventilation grid, the Polestar 2 has a grid and elegant surface which blends harmoniously with the rest of the bodywork. The Polestar logo sits proudly above and in the center of the latter.

Polestar’s interior 2 2023

The interior of the Polestar 2

The cabin is as sleek and cold as the outside. It sports a modern appearance with its small gear lever and its small touch screen of 11.2 PO connected to Google. We like it or not, it is according to your ability to connect to Google interfaces.

The main screen manages all of the vehicle settings. From air conditioning to the multimedia system by following Google in full. We would have liked to have a few buttons in place, but we also understand that these pimples go against purity and careful finish that you will find inside this vehicle.

The Polestar 2 is not a large car, but it offers a decent space for passengers at the front and back. Even if from the outside, the vehicle may seem large, inside, we will quickly be claustrophobic. The amount of side panels being high, it leaves a little less glass space hence the feeling of lack of space on board. Fortunately the vehicle is handled very well in tight parking spaces thanks to the front and rear parking sensors and especially the 360 ​​cameras if you opt for the “Plus” group at $ 5,700.

Polestar exterior design 2 2023

How is the Polestar 2 ?

Depending on the choice of motorization, the Polestar 2 gives you access to 231 horsepower, 434 km of traction autonomy or 408 horsepower and 418 km of autonomy if you opt for a full traction.

We had in our hands the configuration at 408 horsepower which dazzled us by its level of power and motor skills. The 0-100 km can be completed in 4.1s, worthy of a real sportswoman. As for braking, the car brakes as hard as it accelerates. We feel safe at the wheel of the Polestar 2.

No doubt, we are well behind the wheel of a Volvo. Once at their destination, unclog your belt and get out of the vehicle automatically turns off the vehicle. Even if it is not the first time that we have faced this way of turning on and turning off your vehicle, it is always destabilizing to get out of the vehicle without pressing a stop button.

The Volvo C40 2023 and the Polestar 2 2023

The Volvo C40 2023 and the Polestar 2 2023

Why a Polestar 2 rather than the Volvo C40 ?

During our test week, we were seriously asked the question. Which buy between a C40 and a Polestar 2. The Polestar 2 directly competes with the Volvo C40 recharging, even if technically we consider the first a car, the second a multiserment.

The C40 of Volvo begins at $ 63,184 in full traction and offers 364 km of autonomy. The Polestar 2 AWD when a it starts at $ 60,450 and offers more than 400 km of autonomy.

But we must not forget that the Polestar 2 is available in traction format. It is possible to opt for a model without options and traction for a starting price at $ 53,950. This is interesting for those want a high -end electric vehicle while benefiting from the various government aids.

Three -quarter of Polestar 2,2023

We buy or not a Polestar 2 ?

In our opinion, this experience is a very attractive choice. This is a pure Volvo product with all the advantages that we know without having to pay the big price for a C40 or XC40. Another positive point, according to the different poestar forums, new customers generally seem to be able to get their hands on a model in less than 6 weeks. So if we want an electric vehicle quickly, there was Tesla and now there is Polestar.

The competitors of the Polestar 2

Tesla Model 3: Probably the most direct competitor of the Polestar 2, the Tesla Model 3 is a leader in the electric vehicle market because of its long autonomy, its impressive performance and its large recharge network.

Audi e-tron: This intermediate electric vehicle offers comfortable driving and luxurious interior.

BMW i4: This electric sedan promises a sporting driving experience while offering decent autonomy.

Hyundai Ioniq 5 and 6: The Ioniq 5 and now 6 are the new stars of the Hyundai electric vehicle range. The ioniq 5 multisegment has proven itself since its entry on stage, while the new Ioniq 6 electric sedan, with its futuristic design, is positioned as a very attractive alternative to the Polestar 2.

Kia Ev6: The EV6 offers autonomy comparable to the Polestar 2 while retaining a modern design. It also offers a variety of configurations at 2 or 4 wheel drive to meet the different drivers needs.

Volvo XC40 and C40 recharging: The XC40 recharging shares a lot of its technology with the Polestar 2, because the two brands are held by the same group.

2024 Polestar 2 is a win for customers despite raised prices

As reported at the Beginning of the Year, the Polestar 2 Electric Sedan is getting a mid-cycle refresh for 2024 that is so much more than skin deep. Prices are up, mind you, eSpecially when it comes to the dual-motor awd varying.

But let let’s start with the entry-learl, single-word Polestar 2, Which Carries A Base MSRP of $ 54,950, an Increase of $ 1,000 from the outgoing model. That Car Now Uses Rwd Instatead of Fwd and is Powered by a Newly Developed Permanent Magnet Motor and Silicon Carbide Inverter. It has a power output of 220 kw/295 hp (Increased from 170 kw/228 hp) and peak torque of 361 lb-ft. (up from 243 lb-ft.)). The 0-100 km/h sprint time has been cut from 7.4 seconds to 6.2 seconds in the process.

  • ALSO: 2025 Polestar 4 is a bold crossover cut and quickest poestar yet
  • ALSO: POLESTAR 6 The Edition Edition to Make Canadian Concept in Montreal

Maximum DC Fast Charging Capability is boosted to 205 kw, While the Larger 82kWh Battery Enables Up to 515 km of Range, Placing the RWD-Equipped Polestar 2 Behind the Hyundai Ioniq 6 (581 km) But ahead of the Tesla Model 3 (438 km )).

On the outside, you’ll Immondately notice that the front grille is closed. This So-Called Smartzone Hosts Some of the Vehicle’s Most important Active Safety Features, included the front-factor camera and mid-strap. Michelin All-Season Tires Are Now Available for the Standard 19-Inch Wheels, While The Avaible 20-Inch Forged Alloy Wheels Have Been Updated To Align the Polestar 2 in Its Sportiest Expression With Those of the Upcoming Polestar 3 Crossover. Range is affected but not that much (494 km).

What’s more, SAFETY IS ENHANCED with Standard Blind Spot Information System With Steer Assist, Cross Traffic Alert with Brake Support, Park Assist Sensors, 360-Degree Cameras and Auto-Dimming Door Mirrors.

Two Motors are Better, goal ..

Fancy has dual-word Polestar 2? This one starts at $ 62,950 for 2024, up $ 4,000 from the 2023 iteration. Before you get Mad, Consider this: The Pilot Pack, Previously A $ 4,700 option, NOW COMES AS Standard Equipment. It includes Pilot Assist Driver Assistance Aids, Adaptive Cruise Control, Emergency Stop Assist, Rear Collision Warning and Mitigation plus LED Front Fog Lights with Cornering Function.

The Dual-Motor Variant Now has a rwd bias that increese driving pleasure and performance Thanks to a completely re-balating Drivetrain Setup and Torque Ratio. The New Rear Motor is the Primary Drive Source, supported on the front axle by a new asynchronous Motor. This Higher Total System Output of 310 kW/416 HP and 546 LB-F. of Torque (Increased from the Original 300 KW/402 HP and 487 LB-FT.), Resulting in 0-100 km/h sprints in 4.5 seconds (previously 4.8 seconds).

Curiously, Polestar Says The Optional Performance Pack ($ 6,750) Increases Output to 335 kW/449 HP, But Last Time We Checked It Used To Be 350 KW/469 HP. If you’re in a rush, The Car Will Take You To Triple-Digit Speeds in 4.2 seconds. It’s a good Thing Brembo Brakes are included, as well. Don’t Forget the Polestar Engineed Chassis Revisions Complete With Öhlins Shocks.

Supporting Efficiency Gains, The Front Motor Can Now Be DisengenGed Completely when not needed. Ultimately, Maximum Range is eith 444 km or 428 km Depending on your Choice of Wheels (19 Insches or 20 Insches). The 78kwh Battery is unchanged in this Application and can Still Extract No More Than 155 Kw from A DC Fast Changer.

The Optional Plus Pack for $ 3,000, Which was previously $ 5.700, included in rage-enhancing health, premium sound by harman kardon, a large panoramic moonroof with a refleted polestar symbol, heating for the steering wheel, rear seats and wiper nozzles, and year Interior Air Quality System, Among Other Additions. We bet Many Canadian Customers Will Check That Box When Ordering A 2024 Polestar 2.

Incidentally, Despite the Raised Princes, All Polestar 2 Models Qualify for the Federal Government’s Izev Incentive of $ 5,000, and up to $ 4,000 in British Columbia and $ 7,000 in Quebec. Deliveries Will Begin this Summer.