Notice N26: all customer reviews N26 and assessments of experts, reviews N26: N26 customer reviews and experts

Consumer opinions on N26

How are the opinions collected ?

N26, opinion on the mobile bank and its 2023 offer

To give your opinion on you must be or have been a customer at this supplier.

THANKS ! In order to validate your opinion, a confirmation link has just been sent to the following address:

Your votes has been correctly taken intrusion, Thank you!

How are the opinions collected, verified and classified ?

How are the opinions collected ?

Customers who have passed through Selectra to take out their contract receive, a few weeks after their subscription, an email offering them to leave an opinion on their supplier. In addition, any user can at any time submit an opinion by clicking on “Publish my opinion”.
The submission of an opinion does not give access to any consideration for the user.

How are the opinions verified ?

Selectra strives to publish only authentic opinions.
We ask each client submitting an opinion to certify on the honor that he was or is indeed a customer of the supplier on which he gives his opinion and to communicate to us a valid email address.
Each opinion submitted is then reread by Selectra is published only after this verification. Any notice that does not respect our moderation charter or from an unlikely email address will not be published.
When a customer has taken out a contract with a supplier via selectra and leaves an opinion on this supplier with the same email address as that used to subscribe to the contract, selectra adds the notice checked alongside the notice. Otherwise, no mention appears alongside the opinion because we are then unable to guarantee that the customer is indeed or has been a customer of the supplier.
None of the data collected by Selectra as part of the publication of reviews will be used for commercial purposes.

How are the opinions classified ?

The two opinions having collected the most positive votes on the part of the users are put forward.
The following opinions are classified by default from the most recent to the oldest, but it is possible to classify them in order of increasing or decreasing rating.

Of German origin, the neo-banque N26 has more than 1.700.000 of French customers in 2022. Seduced by one of its 4 bank account offers (N26 Standard, N26 Smart, N26 You and N26 Metal), individuals and professionals manage their finances on a daily basis via different innovative features. However, are N26 opinions positive ? What are N26 customer reviews on bank account offers ? Focus of Comparabanques on the notices of Bank N26: costs on banking operations, N26 cards, N26 account.

More informations

⚖️ N26 customer reviews on mobile banking

N26 Customer Reviews

More than a million in France and 7 million in Europe, many individuals and professionals have an N26 account. N26 accounts and bank accounts without income conditions are part of the most attractive banking offers among online banks and other neo-banks. However, that the N26 bank is worth in practice ? To find out and make an objective opinion, the comparabanques experts were interested in N26 customer reviews.

To do this, review platforms such as Truspilot are a gold mine to collect the latest comments from online banking customers.

N26 totals a Excellent score on Truspilot with an average of 3.9/5 (out of 13,330 reviews).

The majority of Positive opinion on N26 notes the quality of banking offers and very competitive prices:

After testing nickel (the worst of all), revolut (not bad) I can tell you that n26 is by far the best neo bank. Hyper fast and free transfer, withdrawal and payment worldwide, very responsive customer service. In short, I recommend. Blair Waldorf, 24/12/2020.

N26 customer with metal offer for years, I am really satisfied with this bank, I am almost thinking of making it my main bank.Cédric SosoCed, 01/16/2022.

On the other hand, the neo-banner has some negative opinion . The majority of opinions n26 collected point the finger at the openings and closings of current accounts for no legitimate reason and without warning the customer beforehand:

Hello, a bank to avoid. We had opened a Business N26 account (autoentrepreneur) more than 2 years ago without any problem and overnight we receive an email indicating the final closure of our account within 2 months without any explanation from them, (December 14 ,2020) Despite that we have contact customer service and live cat on the N26 application, to know the mistakes we could have made, and be able to correct them if these are proven, we were simply told that this decision is irrevocable. Ouneyssa, 12/15/2020.

Very bad experience as a 20 year old with bank. N26 closed account of the day for misuse, when I thought I would use my account appropriately, N26 blocked me access to my account and did not allow me to transfer my 6,500 euros to my account Current banking. Lea Dia, 06/01/2022.

I’ve been trying to open an account for your bank for a while and that I face complications in terms of verification of my identity. […] After having contacted the live cat several times, or I am told that you have to wait, but the server is unavailable, I have to change the phone, what I did in vain since nothing worked. A disaster to open an account at home. All this for recognition of identity which is logical but unmanageable. Ouneyssa, 12/15/2020.

You wish to take out an N26 offer ?

�� Bank N26: Opinion of comparabanques experts

Bank N26 Reviews

Bank N26 is one of the most popular neo-banks in France and Europe. Its success is undeniable and attracted many individuals, especially people looking for a free bank account or a free bank card.

The attractiveness of its banking costs as well as the practicality of its mobile application are the key elements highlighted by the mobile bank to attract new customers. Comparabanques experts peeled bank offers in detail to make a N26 bank reviews.

N26 is worth it for comparabanques ? Overall, N26 is a good mobile bank both for daily use, as on travel abroad. Its account offers and bank cards have some precious assets:

  • Offers bank account without income condition ;
  • A Free bank card offer (Standard N26);
  • A intuitive and functional mobile app ;
  • Of the reduced costs, or even free on current operations on the 4 N26 account offers;
  • Of the Attractive rates on the use of the N26 card abroad : 0 € on all withdrawal costs/payments abroad on N26 You and N26 Metal offers;
  • There Securing bank deposits (N26 has a European banking license).

Comparabanques experts are Several weaknesses in their opinions N26 ::

❌ Instant transfers only between accounts N26
❌ The absence of banking agencies in France;
❌ A customer service available almost exclusively online

You wish to take out an N26 offer ?

�� To discover also: Our Boursorama or N26 comparison

�� N26 card: Opinion on the offer of bank cards

The neo-banque N26 markets 4 offers of bank cards for individuals (N26 Standard, N26 Smart, N26 You, N26 Metal). Each N26 cards have specific features and services to carry out banking transactions all over the world. What do the opinions on N26 cards say ?

Let’s see in detail what comparabanques experts think on N26 bank cards. Here is a summary of the services and functions associated with each card of the neo-banque:

Standard N26 card

N26 Standard
€ 0.00/month

N26 Smart card

N26 Smart
€ 4.90/month

Card N26 you

N26 you
€ 9.90/month

N26 Metal card

N26 Metal
€ 16.90/month

✔️ up to 3 free withdrawals per month

✔️ up to 5 free withdrawals per month

✔️ up to 5 free withdrawals per month

✔️ up to 8 free withdrawals per month

1.7% exchange commission

1.7% exchange commission

Comparabanques gives his opinion on N26 cards ::

The 4 N26 blue card offers are accessible without income conditions. Persons in banking or with irregular income can obtain a N26 card without difficulty. Other positive point to note, The standard N26 offer is associated with a free bank card . Going upmarket, the N26 card offers become paid (from € 4.90 for the N26 SMART offer at € 16.90 for the N26 Metal offer), and grow with diversified services (Insurance Packs )).

Be careful however, the Opinion on N26 cards underline the absence of insurance abroad on standard and N26 SMART N26 cards. Free withdrawal costs on premium offers (N26 You and N26 Metal) are also to be taken with care: the mobile bank does not actually apply any costs on currency withdrawals on a DAB abroad; On the other hand, most N26 customers do not know that local banks can apply their own withdrawal commission.

Finally, N26 cards are systematic authorization debit cards. As a general rule, as soon as the account balance is credited with a sufficient sum, payments are accepted without any particular problem. On the other hand, pay attention to certain types of payments refused systematically such as parking, hotel reservation, or service station. These payments involve a deposit blocking on the blue card, not authorized with an N26 card.

⚙️ N26 account: opinion on banking services

The German mobile bank occupies an interesting market share in the bank in France. Oriented at the start to a traveler and globetrotter clientele, N26 has renewed its bank account offers, to become a real daily bank. Do not opinions on the N26 account invite an account opening at the neo-banque ?

At Comparabanques, the N26 reviews on banking services associated with the current account note certain positive aspects in the use of the account on a daily basis. Thus, it is possible to make SEPA transfers for free, as well as international transfers via the exclusive TransferWise service.

On the other hand, these SEPA transfers can be limited by the German Iban associated with the N26 account. The neo-banque being domiciled in Germany, all the RIB of the N26 accounts are Germans. Which can cause transfers refused by certain traders.

Some N26 opinions also note the absence of checkbook and overdraft authorized.

Standard N26 card

N26 Standard
€ 0.00/month

N26 Smart card

N26 Smart
€ 4.90/month

Card N26 you

N26 you
€ 9.90/month

N26 Metal card

N26 Metal
€ 16.90/month

�� N26 Business: Opinion on the professional offer of the mobile bank

Opinion N26 Business

The N26 mobile bank is also present on the market for bank offers for professionals. It markets 4 professional bank account offers for self-employed entrepreneurs and freelancers.

Similar to the offer for individuals, the 4 N26 Business offers decompose in:

  1. N26 Standard business at 0 € per month
  2. N26 Business Smart at € 4.90 per month
  3. N26 Business You at € 9.90 per month
  4. N26 Business Metal at € 16.90 per month

Is it advantageous for the professional to open a professional account at the neo-ban ? THE N26 Business reviews are almost identical to those noted in the offer for individuals.

Thus, several N26 opinions praise the conditions of access to the professional offer:

  • No income condition. Practical when you have just embarked on entrepreneurial life;
  • A standard offer with a account + a free bank card;
  • reduced, even free banking rates (identical to the N26 private offer);
  • A mobile application to manage its cash flow independently;

Please note, however some opinions on N26 Business note:

  • the absence of a checkbook;
  • The professional account is domiciled in Germany. Which implies the impossibility of installing a payment terminal, and sepa transfer problems, in particular with official organizations (URSSAF, taxes);
  • The impossibility of depositing checks and species.

�� What is the mobile application of N26 worth ?

Notice N26 Mobile Application

The N26 mobile application is noted 4.8/5 On Apple Store and 4.3/5 On Google Play. Excellent scores that reflect the intuitivity and efficiency of available features. The mobile bank thus benefits from a good aura concerning the popularity of its mobile application.

The customer can manage his finances independently: set up transfers and samples, make payments and withdrawals in France and abroad, modify the ceiling of his bank card, etc.

Alone recurring downside noted by opinions n26 : the mobile application is linked to the customer’s phone number. If you change the number, it is essential to report it on your N26 customer area, at the risk of being refused access to the application.

�� Online bank N26 is made for you ?

N26 offers are focused on essential banking services: A current account + a bank card + a mobile application. The subscription to an N26, rapid N26 offer, moreover reflects the effectiveness of the neo-ban. Are N26 reviews, however, positive for comparabanques ?

The banking solutions of the mobile bank offer good conditions of access and reduced costs on current operations. The majority of individuals can thus find their happiness in one of the 4 N26 offers, whatever their profile (banking prohibition, self-entrepreneurs, globetrotters, traveler, active, etc.)).

Be careful however, comparabanques experts do not recommend N26 offers for:

  • people allergic to computer tools or use of mobile phone. Management of the N26 account being 100 % online;
  • People looking for a bank marketing the same services as a traditional bank. N26 does not offer diversified financial products (savings, life insurance, PEL, scholarship, etc.);
  • people reassured by the presence of a network of physical agencies. N26, as a reminder, is a 100% mobile bank.

Comparabanques invites you to consult his comparison of banks [Date: Year] in order to find the bank which can best support you in your daily needs

Consumer opinions on N26

N26

A new among the victims of N26 … Account fenced without notice, without emails, without request for proof … Impossible to have them on the phone, emails or customer service which visibly endorse the hierarchy.. They allow themselves this kind of action because they have no physical point. I can hardly see a general bank acting this way. That the accounts are closed is not disturbing, unfortunately when it comes to wanting to recover the money, the CA becomes complicated.. Sending messages to say that your funds are insured up to € 100,000 is easy, but N26 is not obviously a bank, but simply a piggy bank to deposit 100 € and nothing more.. To those who wish to open an online account, honestly preferred nickel, revolut etc.. As mentioned in several complaints, the only means and to go through a lawyer, because we are entitled to recover our funds, and to request damage for the deadlines of blocked funds and their breaches following the fact which does not prevent customers before closing

1 person found this opinion useful
Only verified customers

Thief Bank two years with them no worries the in verification on my account is made I am told that there are suspicious movement, I have all the documents of the money they do not want to hear anything they close my account And I no longer have access to my space they do not go to me my money sleeps with them to take your darer we are there then when we want we end the account I make them advertisement on the resale They will see and my opinions oula on their site that happy people no bad advice but here that bad care is shit like a bank at the beginning everything is fine and after you are made to you without reason

Absolutely flee this bank . I was a very good customer for years. For a week they have closed my account to me without any notification. Automatic responses permanently. It’s not very serious . And on everything they are very difficult to reimburse you your money . I do not advise you this bank . Truly not .

They closed my birth. We Send You Automatic Relies. I was a very good customer for years. they are a lot of disorder refunding you your money. I do not recommend this bank.

Completely outdated online bank ! You change mobile phone and it is impossible for you to resynchronize the new phone (Huawei) no customer service, lowcost interlocutors unable to inform you. For the past 1 month, it has been impossible to resolve their bug impossible to make online shopping because this bank does not recognize my new phone. Furthermore, when I make an instant transfer on N26 from a French bank account, the transfer is only effective after 10 days. What do they do with our money during this time ? I strongly advise against this bank which had only interest when the insurance coverage abroad was correct, which is no longer the case !

I was ripped off for a very large sum on the “mobile site.From “by a German false mechanic who claimed to send me the vehicle in France (I saw the same fraudster on eBay, Autoscout etc. With the name of Ionita Authaus Kieschnick who comes from Africa and who has an N26 account, proof that N26 never checks the identity of their “customers”). I filed a complaint against these fraudsters (filing of supporting complaints) and I am looking for similar cases to constitute a large file of several complainants (I am in contact with a lawyer whose specialty). Contact me if the same thing happened to you, here is my email address (without spaces): Tom 1345b @ hotmail . com n26 never responds, the authorities have never had a response from them, and they do not take responsibility to reimburse me the big amount that I was robbed by the crook who is at N26, they do not check never the identity of their customers. Never go in this Bank N26 it is the worst (do not listen to their ridiculous response to this comment, from experience it is the worst of all).

I have been a customer for several years. But in recent days after several exchanges on the LiveChat of the Bank all sold by an interruption of the conversation by their services I end up with my innacessible account + my blocked card + access to the Livechat blocked. When in contact by email via their “litigation” service it systematically refers me to the lived that it cuts my !

To give your opinion on N26 you must be or have been a customer of this supplier

THANKS ! In order to validate your opinion, a confirmation link was sent to the following address:

Your vote has been taken into account. THANKS !

How are the opinions collected, verified and classified ?

How are the opinions collected ?

Customers who have passed through Selectra to take out their contract receive, a few weeks after their subscription, an email offering them to leave an opinion on their supplier. In addition, any user can at any time submit an opinion by clicking on “Publish my opinion”.
The submission of an opinion does not give access to any consideration for the user.

How are the opinions verified ?

Selectra strives to publish only authentic opinions.
We ask each client submitting an opinion to certify on the honor that he was or is indeed a customer of the supplier on which he gives his opinion and to communicate to us a valid email address.
Each opinion submitted is then reread by Selectra is published only after this verification. Any notice that does not respect our moderation charter or from an unlikely email address will not be published.
When a customer has taken out a contract with a supplier via selectra and leaves an opinion on this supplier with the same email address as that used to subscribe to the contract, selectra adds the notice checked alongside the notice. Otherwise, no mention appears alongside the opinion because we are then unable to guarantee that the customer is indeed or has been a customer of the supplier.
None of the data collected by Selectra as part of the publication of reviews will be used for commercial purposes.

How are the opinions classified ?

The two opinions having collected the most positive votes on the part of the users are put forward. Among all the opinions having collected positive votes, opinions from verified customers have priority on other opinions.
The following opinions are classified by default from the most recent to the oldest, but it is possible to classify them in order of increasing or decreasing rating. When a supplier has received reviews from verified customers, then only the checked customer reviews are displayed by default. It is possible to display all reviews by deactivating the option “only verified customers”.

How is the note calculated ?

The note corresponds to the weighted average of all the grades received for the supplier. We have chosen to give more weight to notes from verified customers and recent notes. Consequently, for a given notice, the weighting factor P is equal to X * Y Or X is equal to 2 if the opinion comes from a verified customer or to 1 if the opinion comes from an unaccompanied customer; and or Y is equal to 1 for a notice of less than 2 years, 0.75 for an opinion between 2 and 3 years, 0.5 for an opinion between 3 and 4 years, or 0.25 for opinion of more than 4 years.

Opinion N26 (2022): Is this the best neobank in France ?

The Mobile Bank N26 is one of the major banking players in Europe. It has had more than 2 million French customers since June 2021 and 7 million on dozens of other countries in the which has been located for 9 years. As a neobank, it is distinguished from online banks but is not withdrawn with loan services, its solutions to better manage its money, its international cards and its mobile application. Below, Our opinion N26 gives you the keys and facilitate your choice.

Apple Pay Google Pay

N26 Standard : CB free

Opening an account in 8 minutes

Unlimited and free payments

Excellent mobile application

Annual costs: 0 € • Initial deposit: 0 €

Check deposit: ✘ • Specific deposit: ✘

Monthly card cost: 0 €

Euro zone withdrawals: 3 free withdrawals (then € 2) • Payments Euro zone: free

Currency withdrawals: 1.70% • Invitation payments: free

Apple Pay Google Pay

Presentation of the neo-banque N26

N26 is a neo-Banque which was founded in 2013 in Berlin, Germany in Germany. Since then, it has largely extended through Europe to become one of the references in the segment. She tackled the American market before turning back to focus on her favorite markets. In France, the N26 model inspired most online banks: its innovative application, its 100 % mobile model and its efficiency to create an account still defies the chronicle today.

In addition, with Revolut (her main competitor), she also marked a big blow with her international advantages where traditional French banks brought astronomical sums to customers if they paid, withdrew, sent money to foreigner. Today, the delay of other actors is no longer as strong. To continue to be competitive, N26 has refined its choice of bank cards and additional services. Right or wrongly ?

N26 NEO BANK

If the neo-banque N26 has long been spared from local competitors, France has seen many alternatives born. Starting with online banks with Hello Bank!, Boursorama Banque, Monabanq or Fortuneo. Then, other models were born, like the nickel account, with its physical support (among tobacconists) or even my French bank, the neobank of the postal bank.

Today, the neobank is one of those whose growth remains strong – thanks to a fairly denying popularity with young people (but not that, the average age of customers is 31 years). If it originally intended to be the travelers’ bank, “N26 has evolved to become a daily bank” As Jeremie Rosselli told us, the CEO of the neobank for the French market. It has set up four different formulas to meet all types of needs.

Eligibility condition in N26

To start this N26 review page, let’s address the (flexible) eligibility conditions to open an account. Originally, traditional network banks did not require proof of income but they were (and still invoic) high banking costs. There followed a second wave of financial institutions: online banks. The majority of them abolished bank charges on current operations in the exchange of proof of income. Boursorama Banque is an exception: it is free and unconditionally.

On the neobancas side like N26, it was the end of the income conditions, the arrival of gratuitousness and more premium subscriptions. If for you, N26 rhymed with a free bank card, know that times have changed and that the offer has embellished new cards. Today, three of them require monthly contributions and a one -year commitment duration. In addition, the free formula no longer gives the right to a physical bank card.

Regardless of the card and the N26 account chosen, in all cases, there is no need to justify income and the costs are clear. You will have to justify your identity by sending a supporting document (passport or identity card) as well as a photo or video call to confirm it. With the pandemic, N26 was forced to review her model: she now put on paid subscriptions.

N26 bank cards

Before continuing our opinion N26, you should know that the neobank has created its offer around a current account, a bank card and a mobile application. That’s all. So do not try to find the same services as in an online bank, even if a credit offer is still available. For those who have savings to place or investments to be made, the application will not fill you.

Around this offer, she imagined four formulas to meet various needs of its users: N26 Standard, N26 Smart, N26 You and N26 Metal. Each of these bank cards has special services and conditions, we will see in detail in our opinion N26. From the simplest standard formula and up to the prestigious metal card (N26 Metal), the neo-ban.

N26 Cards 2022 Prices

Network, speed and discovered authorized

In France, all the cards issued by N26 are stamped with the MasterCard logo. The neobank has chosen to leave with this partner rather than visa, but that does not change anything for the customer. These networks are equivalent since they cover 30 million points of sale around the world and more than a million distributors. In our opinion, N26 is therefore ideal for travelers.

Like the majority of simplified banking offers, the cards provided by N26 do not allow authorized overdraft (except in Germany and Austria). The card is at systematic authorization: for each transactions, the account balance is controlled. If it is not garnished enough, the transaction will then be declined. You must therefore always check the state of your current account so as not to be surprised by such a scenario. You cannot go into red – which can also be a positive point for those who have trouble managing their money. This concerns the standard N26 card as well as paid versions such as N26 You and N26 Metal.

Payment ceilings and withdrawals

Whatever the formula you will take from the neo-banque, the payment, withdrawal and transfer ceilings are exactly the same. Because there is no authorized overdraft, this limits the risks for the bank and the customer. To ensure the safety of its users’ funds, the neobank has set a daily ceiling and a monthly ceiling on payments and withdrawals. In the case of transfers, only a daily ceiling is defined. As you will see in our opinion N26 below, the German neobank excels in this part.

Thus, whatever the standard N26 offer, Smart, You or Metal, here are the limits:

Daily ceiling for card N26:

  • € 2,500 for distributor withdrawals
  • € 5,000 in payments

Monthly ceiling for the N26 card:

  • € 10,000 in distributor withdrawals
  • € 20,000 in payments

Daily ceiling for transfers:

  • € 50,000 for outgoing transfers
  • Unlimited for incoming transfers
  • € 1,000 via moneybeam for N26 users
  • € 100 via Moneybeam for customers from other banks

Without entering the comparison with all the competitors of Fintech N26, our opinion is that this establishment is in front of the others. At Hello One, the most serious competitor of the N26 neobank, payments are limited to € 1,000 over 30 days, and withdrawals to € 400 over 7 days. Again, Boursorama Banque is UFO with its Ultim card, free and without income conditions, which offers even greater flexibility.

N26 Metal account

Payments and withdrawals in France and abroad

As we said above in our opinion N26, the neobank was initially imagined to offer a solution to travelers – with a very competitive offer on costs and exchange rates. This is always the case and N26 has established itself with Revolut as a reference on this niche (although offers like Boursorama Ultim are at the same height-or even in front). All N26 cards are international.

Regarding withdrawals, you must distinguish euros from other currencies. For Euro withdrawals, the N26 standard card offers 3 free withdrawals per month. The other cards offer 5, except the metal card which offers 8. After these ceilings, n26 invoices € 2 for each withdrawal in addition. It’s a bit of a shame when you know that local players like the online bank Hello Bank! or Boursorama Banque does not charge any costs at all, regardless of the number of withdrawals.

N26 Payments withdrawals

For withdrawals from foreign currencies (excluding SEPA zone), it depends on the formula you have chosen: the free N26 standard account invoices 1.7% on all withdrawals, while premium accounts N26 you and metal invoice any commission – without any limit. N26 Smart is not enough to benefit from free withdrawals in foreign currency.

On the other hand, N26 does not charge any costs regardless of the account on payments. This concerns both payments in euros and payments in foreign currencies. In other words, even if you have the standard N26 standard account, you will have zero commission on all of your payments. When you are abroad, you therefore have every interest in paying for a bank card rather than in cash.

Mobile and contactless payment

At the end of 2020, Apple Pay should be compatible with 99 % of all bank cards issued in France. N26 was one of the first active banks in France to support Apple Pay – which also contributed to its popularity with lovers of new technologies. Since then, the neobank has adopted Google Pay, a similar solution to settle with Android smartphones.

In terms of operation, Apple Pay and Google Pay are equivalent – with the difference that the first only works with the iPhone, and that the second is limited to smartphones under the Android OS. As a N26 customer, you can record your card on the application (wallet) of your compatible phone. The latter can then serve as an alternative to the physical card. Thanks to the NFC and authentication by facial recognition or digital imprint, payment is secure. No ceiling is set for payment by Apple Pay or Google Pay.

In addition to these two mobile payment means, the neobank also offers the possibility of paying without contact with its bank card. The ceiling is however limited to 50 € for each operation (since May 11, 2020). At any time, the user can choose to activate or deactivate the “contactless” payment option from the mobile account for management of his account.

Insurance and guarantees N26

Let us continue our opinion N26 with the insurance associated with the card. There are once again differences between the free account of the mobile bank, and the paid versions. But again, N26 Smart does not include insurance at all. It is the same for the standard N26 formula. To subscribe to an N26 bank card with insurance, you must opt ​​for N26 You or N26 Metal.

If the card associated with the free account is not accompanied by any insurance, the other two cards are equivalent – at least – a first visa or a mastercard gold. At the end of 2019, they saw their spectrum expanding to cover customers even more.

Insurance n26 you:

  • Medical coverage, dental, winter sport up to € 1 million (holder + family)
  • Compensation up to € 500 beyond 4 hours behind flight
  • Compensation up to € 1,200 in the event of loss of luggage
  • Cancellation / travel interruption insurance up to € 10,000
  • Coverage in the event of a damage to self -service vehicles up to € 20,000

Insurance N26 Metal:

  • Medical coverage, dental, winter sport up to € 1 million (holder + family)
  • Compensation up to € 500 beyond 4 hours behind flight
  • Compensation up to € 1,200 in the event of loss of luggage
  • Cancellation / travel interruption insurance up to € 10,000
  • Coverage in the event of a damage to self -service vehicles up to € 20,000
  • Coverage for vehicle rentals abroad up to € 20,000
  • Cover in the event of flight or accidental damage to your smartphone up to € 1,000

Obviously, when N26 was designed for travelers, insurance abroad was taken into account. Today, by choosing for the paid versions of the N26 offer, you have the possibility of being largely covered in particular for health. This fact in our opinion of N26 a very good option when we often move beyond our borders.

N26 cards prices

As we have already said on several occasions in our N26 opinion, there is a free card and three paid bank cards in the neobanque offer in 2022. You can find in our comparator N26 You or N26 Metal, the first is billed € 9.90 per month while the second is available at a price of € 16.90 monthly. For both, you will have to subscribe to an initial one -year commitment period, even if you pay monthly.

Among the points that distinguish the two offers, we can cite more global insurance (on car rentals or the smartphone), the assistance line dedicated for the metal version, or even exclusive experiences offered by N26 partners to members Metal formula. N26 Smart stands out from standard N26 by additional services on the application and five free withdrawals per month in Euro against only 3 for the free card.

N26 Cards 2022 Prices

Current account management

Mobile application at N26

In terms of user experience, the N26 mobile application is one of the best available on the market to manage its bank account. Navigation is done very intuitively, and everything is accessible in just a few clicks. You can for example find in real time the balance of your account, visualize graphics where expenses are categorized or even obtain notifications during your transactions. A new function called “spaces” allows you to create prize pools (accessible from N26 Smart).

For those who are not comfortable with the payment and withdrawal ceilings announced above, N26 leaves the possibility for its users to configure them themselves from the application. The neo-banque offers maximum security since it is possible to block (and unlock) at any time its bank card from its application, or to modify its PIN code. To connect to it, we can set up facial recognition or fingerprint control to secure access. In an emergency, it will be possible to use the code.

N26 App

Account food

It’s a bit of a good number of online banks available in France. How to feed your account when you are at N26 ? It is not possible to deposit species or send checks to credit your account (the neobank also does not offer checkerer). It is therefore necessary to go through transfers to feed the latter.

During the month of April 2020, N26 officially announced that bank card payments were also authorized, and that a 3% commission was applied to these. This is a lot, while many competitors have almost no costs for that. That said, this is a good solution in an emergency.

Consumer credit N26

To establish its popularity, N26 does not hesitate to establish partnerships with other fintechs on other products. She collaborates in particular with TransferWise to facilitate international money transfers, or with French Younited for consumer credit. Thus, users of the service can apply for credit between 1,000 and 50,000 € directly from their mobile app.

To subscribe, N26 promises 0 paperwork. A questionnaire allows you to pre-select customers eligible for this cash facility. The customer then receives an immediate response – which will then be permanently validated within 24 hours by the N26 teams. As you can see below, the rate offered by the neo-banque is clearly not the most competitive on the market (4.59% fixed TAEG for € 1,000 over 12 months). However, this can serve as an effective solution if you need emergency consumer credit.

Consumer credit N26

Despite fairly high rates (between 3.60% and 15.96% depending on the borrower’s profile), the N26 consumer credit supply has its flexibility. You unwind yourself from the reimbursement period, which can range from 6 to 72 months. There are very few supporting documents to provide and everything is done online. In other words, you should not wait until the mail arrives at your bank for the file to advance. The credit is provided by Younited but everything is transparent for the user since the money arrives directly on the N26 account. Refunds are then made by direct debit. Note that N26 recommends receiving your salary directly in the application so as not to miss any deadline.

Neo-Banque Customer Service

To compete with traditional banks, N26 had to have customer support up. The neo-banque offers assistance on expanded schedules, between 7 a.m. and 11 p.m. via an online cat on the application, and available in French. The latter is accessible for all accounts – free or paid. In the case of the N26 Metal account, users also benefit from a live line to obtain more efficient assistance.

It is the same principle as what is found in online banks like Hello Bank!. This last offer, for example, a basic service to its free hello one customers, while Hello Prime customers benefit from priority access. This necessarily weighs in the balance and those who will make N26 their main account will appreciate having rapid and efficient customer support.

What about stock market investments and crypto ?

Unlike many online and neobanc banks, N26 does not yet offer its customers to invest in the stock market or in cryptocurrencies. The firm underlines on its help pages not to be registered as a trading company. Customers’ money is mainly, according to the bank, made available to customers in the form of credits. For the rest of the liquidity not used in the context of customer operations, “N26 continues a low -risk investment strategy”.

And the bank to detail: “We place the money from our customers with the Deutsche Bundesbank and to other European banks in the euro zone only whose risk category is low and the maturity short”. N26 also adds refinance “Loans to public authorities in Germany (cities and municipalities)” as well as invest “In state bonds in euros”.

N26 underlines: “We are not a trading establishment and therefore do not invest in making short -term profits. We do not speculate on raw materials, on currencies, nor on bitcoin or any other asset classes ”. At the beginning of 2022, the founder of N26 acknowledged that the neobanque had delayed offering a cryptocurrency purchase and conservation service: she would however be working on the project.

Conclusion: our opinion on N26

In the space of a few years, N26 has established itself as a must -have of neobancs in France and Europe. As you may have seen in our N26 opinion above, it really managed to make the bank accessible by relying on the following pillars: a current account in 8 minutes, a bank card and an intuitive mobile application. For daily travelers and users, it’s a very good choice. For those who wish to be able to invest from their banking application, a little less-for lack of PEA account or the possibility of buying and storing cryptocurrencies.

With more than two million customers, it must be recognized that the N26 is successful. However, she faces local actors like Hello Bank! or Boursorama Banque. The latter have the advantage of offering a much wider range of products, which is lacking today in N26. Nevertheless its singularity, especially in terms of consumer credits, should help the bank reach its objective of 5 million customers in France.

N26 would be criticized for having changed course by mainly offering paid cards where it was known for its original free. But necessarily, enjoying good service cannot be free for very long. Hopefully the most premium cards return to a lower price while competition from online banks arrives in force (Boursorama).

To discover the current N26 offer, it’s here:

Apple Pay Google Pay

N26 Standard : CB free

Opening an account in 8 minutes

Unlimited and free payments

Excellent mobile application